The Faculty of Optics and Optometry of Terrassa (FOOT) began its journey on October 7, 1977, although at that time it was a School, under the umbrella of the Polytechnic University of Barcelona, later Polytechnic University of Catalonia (UPC). At its inception, the Diploma in Optics was taught, according to the 1972 curriculum, which replaced the non-university Diploma in Opticianry, created in 1956 and taught at the Daza de Valdés Institute of Optics in Madrid. The 1972 curriculum would later be replaced by those of 1982 and 1993, which included a progressive increase in optometric and clinical subjects.


At the time of its inauguration, the Terrassa School became the second optical school in Spain, after the University School of Optics in Madrid. Spain became the third European country, after Great Britain and Ireland, to have an official university degree in optics.

For fifteen years, the Optics School shared the building at 1 Colom Street with the Industrial School of Terrassa, a work of Catalan modernism by the architect Lluís Muncunill i Parellada. They also shared directors and administrative services.


In 1986, the municipal Corporation of Terrassa ceded land to the UPC for the future School. On April 24, 1990, the cornerstone was laid, attended by, among others, the architect of the new building, Enric Rello, the mayor of Terrassa, Manuel Royes, the rector of the UPC, Gabriel Ferraté, and the director of the School, Josep Ribé. On April 27, 1993, the new building of the University School of Optics and Optometry of Terrassa (EUOOT) was officially inaugurated. In 2008, the University Vision Center (CUV) was inaugurated alongside the EUOOT.

On May 15, 1992, the first director of the Terrassa Optics School was elected, Joan Salvadó i Arqués. He was followed by Josep Pladellorens in 1995, Núria Lupón in 2002, Ester Guaus in 2008, and Joan Gispets in 2014, the first optometrist director.


Some Data